Outstanding Contributions to Hampshire & Isle of Wight Tennis

Monday, December 12, 2011
Outstanding Contributions to Hampshire & Isle of Wight Tennis


At the Hampshire & IOW LTA Awards evening two special awards were given to Bob Battersby and Charles Trippe in recognition of their outstanding contributions to Hampshire & IOW tennis.


Charles Trippe 

After many years service on the Hampshire & IOW Committee, Charles became the County Treasurer from 1977-1998 and was Chairman from 1997-2003.

In 1995 Charles became member of the LTA Main Board and served as Chairman of the National Tennis Development Board from 1995-1997. Charles was Treasurer of the LTA from 1998-2000 and Deputy President from 2000-2003 and President from 2003-2005.


Bob Battersby

Bob has been a member of the Hampshire & IOW Committee for nearly 25 years and was County Chairman from 2005-2010.  In 2004 Bob became a County Councillor and joined the LTA Main Board in 2010.


Both Charles and Bob have played for the County for a number of years and for the various Vets age groups and are both currently members of the Hampshire & IOW Council.



c/o David Lloyd Southampton
Frogmore Lane
Nursling, Southampton
Hampshire SO16 0XS
07542 514 488