Scottish Cup Delight for Thorn Park and Blackhall

Monday, June 26, 2017

Thorn Park men and Blackhall women are the 2017 Scottish Cup winners following Sunday’s finals at Craiglockhart, Edinburgh.

With both teams at full strength, the quality of doubles tennis in the men’s final was as high as any of the spectators could remember. The Bearsden side led by the narrowest of margins 2-1 after Round 1, after captain Jordan Gray and Adam Stevenson beat Vincent Gillespie and Euan McGinn in a deciding third set tie-break. Thorn then led 4-2 after the second round was won by the same margin, and looked strong favourites to take the title at that stage. Giffnock however, had not given up hope and, at one point in Round 3, led in all three rubbers creating a possibility of an upset. In front of a stand packed with supporters from all teams, Thorn Park’s third pairing of Mike Cohen and Robert Dalgetty decided the outcome of the final with a 6-3 7-6 win over Giffnock’s third string of Matt Stout and team captain Owen Hadden.

In the women’s event, Newlands were defending their title against a strong and experienced Blackhall team. The first round, a ‘B’ draw, was won by the Edinburgh club 2-1 – the crucial rubber being Blackhall’s second pairing of Eilidh Smith and Rosie Dennis’s recovery from a set down to beat Paige Denholm and Heather Lockhart in a match tie-break third set. After lunch, the Blackhall team, captained by Hannah Sharp, won all three second round rubbers to win the championship by a 5-1 margin. Blackhall have now won the championship six times, most recently in 2013, and will now be full of confidence going into next weekend, as Scotland’s representatives, in the national Aegon Team Tennis playoffs against Virgin Active Wearside.

The championship trophies, first played for in 1884, were presented by Tennis Scotland President David Mazzucco.   During the presentation ceremony, it was noted that over 600 players from 85 registered clubs in Scotland had participated in this year’s competition.

Completed draws can be found at Scottish Inter-Club Challenge Cup

Winning teams:

THORN PARK – Jordan Gray [captain]; Mike Cohen; Robert Dalgetty; Ewan Moore; Connor Thomson; Adam Stevenson

BLACKHALL – Hannah Sharp [captain]; Emma Devine; Rosemary Dennis; Eilidh Smith; Julie Hirst; Sonia Vickers



177 Colinton Road

EH14 1BZ
0131 444 1984