Rowan Cup & Bulletin Trophy

Monday, November 13, 2017

Top club players from around the West of Scotland gathered at Scotstoun Leisure Centre in Glasgow this weekend for the annual Rowan Cup and Bulletin Trophy team competitions. Open to the sixteen highest ranked men’s and women’s club teams in the West of Scotland, the FAST4 format is used to provide all players with a guaranteed four doubles matches in a one day competition.

Western tennis club men’s team won the 2017 Rowan Cup on Saturday. The team of Jamie Hunter, Gavin Picken, Euan Gibson-Smith and Patrick Baker, won through three rounds before beating Newlands in the final. Giffnock took third place winning a tie-break shoot-out against Hamilton who had upset the holders Thorn Park in the second round.

On Sunday,16 women’s teams competed for the Bulletin Trophy. At the semi-final stage, top seeds Newlands beat Giffnock in a tie-break shoot-out with Strathgryffe beating Western. In the final, the Newlands team of Jennifer and Caitlin Steel, Eilidh McLaughlin and Sophie James, proved too strong for the team from Houston winning on both courts to take the title for the fifth year in succession. Giffnock beat Western to finish third.

The FAST4 team format once again proved a hit with the 112 players who participated over the weekend with every team playing three or four matches.

Trophies were presented by President John Shemilt and Vice-President John Jellema at the end of each day’s play.  

The 2017 West of Scotland season will be celebrated on Monday 27th November at the David Lloyd club in Renfrew when teams and individual players will attend Tennis West of Scotland’s annual Awards ceremony. Dunlop ambassador Leon Smith, current GB Davis Cup captain, is guest of honour at the presentation and at a parents’ forum, earlier in the day, for parents of players currently on the Tennis Scotland pathway programme (West).

Full results from both days of play can be found at Dunlop Rowan Cup & Bulletin Trophy

Rowan Cup winners – Western LTC – Gavin Picken; Jamie Hunter; John Jellema [VP TWoS]; Euan Gibson-Smith; Patrick Baker
Bulletin trophy winners – Newlands LTC – Caitlin Steel; Eilidh McLaughlin; John Shemilt [President TWoS]; Jennifer Steel; Sophie James



177 Colinton Road

EH14 1BZ
0131 444 1984