Thursday, September 14, 2017

What a fantastic year it’s been for Welsh tennis in 2017!  We’ve had players from Wales winning British national titles in juniors, veterans/seniors, and in wheelchair tennis, and we’ve had players from Wales representing Team GB and helping GB to win international medals and trophies.  Alongside these great performances at the top end, community tennis participation, schools tennis participation, and club membership has continued to increase and make tennis one of the most popular sports in Wales.

Achieving these great things in Welsh tennis requires time, energy, and expertise from a huge  number of people across Wales, whether in paid positions or doing their bit as a volunteer.  The Tennis Wales Awards wants to recognize those individuals and groups who are playing successful roles in helping to do that, and to those who are achieving individual or team success.

As with the previous 3 years, the Tennis Wales Awards will run alongside the British Tennis Awards (BTA) with the aim of helping to reward the people who deliver tennis in communities across Wales and Great Britain.  Welsh venues are encouraged to nominate the volunteers, coaches, officials, players and venues who have made a significant difference at local level.  The winners of some of the categories at our Tennis Wales Awards will automatically be put forward as a nomination for an overall BTA.  The Tennis Wales Awards will be held in January 2018, followed by the British Tennis Awards in July.

For Wales, there are 13 categories altogether.  The first 10 categories* are eligible to be nominated for a Tennis Wales Award and a British Tennis Award:

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Inspire2coach Young Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Coach of the Year Award
  • Chiltern Sports Club of the Year Award
  • Community Venue of the Year Award
  • Disability Programme Award
  • Education Programme Award
  • Official of the Year Award
  • Competition of the Year Award
  • Outstanding Achievement

As well as the above 10 categories Tennis Wales will also be recognizing the achievements made in 3 other categories :

  • Team of the Year
  • Club Team of the Year
  • Player of the Year

Nominations for all categories should be submitted online via the LTA website by noon on Friday 24th November.

Please note: that only the Tennis Wales Award winners of the 10 categories (marked with a *) will be eligible to be put forward for a British Tennis Award.

If you are unable to access the LTA online form, please complete the below nomination form and submit to Maria Rees by the deadline specified. 

The nomination form will allow you to give a brief historic account of your nominee prior to 2017.  It is important to note that the Awards Panels will make a decision based purely on the information provided within the nomination form and with the main emphasis being on achievements and activities from December 2016 to November 2017.  Please do not assume that the panel will already know of the achievements.

The shortlisted nominees for each category will be invited to attend the Tennis Wales Awards ceremony on Saturday 27th January 2018 at the Marriott Hotel in Cardiff at a discounted rate.  Please ensure you have the permission of the person you are nominating before submitting the form.  Your contact details, the nominees contact details and the contents of this form will be kept on file for a maximum of 7 years.  Contact details will be solely for the use of Tennis Wales Ltd and will not be forwarded onto a third party.

The closing date for the return of nomination forms is 12pm on Friday 24th November 2017.



To be returned to


Tennis Wales

Francis House

2 Drake Walk, Brigantine Place


CF10 4AN



Tennis Wales Office
Francis House
No 2 Drake Walk
Waterfront 2000, Cardiff CF10 4AN
029 20463335