Hampshire & IOW AGM & British Tennis Awards

Sunday, December 10, 2017
Hampshire & IOW AGM & British Tennis Awards

The presentation of the Hampshire & Isle of Wight County British Tennis Awards followed the AGM on Thursday 7th December at Winchester Racquets and Fitness.

At the start of the AGM Bob Battersby, President, paid tribute to Ian McDiarmid and there was a minute’s silence.

Ian sadly passed away in July and he’d been the Hon. Secretary for nearly 40 years (from 1969) – certainly one of the longest serving county secretaries in LTA History.  Ian knew everything there was to know about tennis in the County and served as one of the two LTA Councillors for 11 years, eventually retiring to concentrate on the County rather than split his energies on both.  Ian had also been a referee, refereeing the Southampton Junior and Senior tournaments, Eastleigh, Winchester and the Hampshire Schools tournaments for many years.

After retiring as Hon Secretary, Ian fulfilled his long held ambition to write a history of Hampshire & IOW LTA which is a fascinating read for those involved in the county, although in Ian’s typical understated and modest fashion, it doesn’t dwell enough on his own contribution to the County Association. 

After the official AGM business, the Chairman, Richard Cutler, presented the Babolat Leagues winners with their trophies.  There was a refreshment break with sandwiches and chips before the British Tennis Awards were presented.

This is the third year for the British Tennis Awards, which acknowledge all the work done by people from all over the country starting with County Awards, progressing to Regional Awards and culminating in the National Awards.  Hampshire & IOW had over 30 nominations and the winners were:-

Volunteer Award – Michael Isaac (Portsmouth Leagues)

Young Volunteer Award – Jessica Barton (Portsmouth Tennis Centre)

Coach Award – Ashley Neaves (Portsmouth Tennis Centre

Club Award – Portsmouth Tennis Centre

Community Venue Award – Totton & Eling Tennis Centre

Education Award – Sandown Bay Academy

Disability Programme Award – Winchester Disability Tennis Initiative

Outstanding Achievement – Alan Redman (Denmead Tennis Club)

In addition, Hampshire & IOW LTA presented two County only awards:-

Outstanding Contribution to Hampshire & IOW Tennis:

Lynne Battersby

Jim Skinner

Congratulations to all winners.



c/o David Lloyd Southampton
Frogmore Lane
Nursling, Southampton
Hampshire SO16 0XS
07542 514 488