Notts LTA Award Winners

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Notts LTA Awards Night


The 11th Notts LTA Awards Night, sponsored by Slazenger, took place on Friday 10th February at newly-named Broken Wheelbarrow bar, Notts County Football Club with Rick Britton as the master of ceremonies.


200 attended from the tennis clubs around the county and Isabel Tyrrell, a Notts and GB player with ITF Seniors Team and Individual World Championship titles, presented the awards.


Most improved Junior Girl:   Jasmine Bharwaj  (r/up: Liana Sharrat-Blanksey)

Most Improved Junior Boy:   Spike Morgan-Tansley  (r/up: Phoenix Weir)

Best Individual Domestic Performance:  Amelia Rajecki (r/up: Mia Wainwright)  


Best Individual International Performance:  Luke Bambridge  (r/up Dominic West)

Coach of the Year:               James Harding (r/up Gareth Billingham)

Volunteer of the Year:          Bob Maskill (r/up: Gary Bearman)

Team of the Year:                Notts Men County Cup Team (r/up DL Aspley Jets Green team)

School / College of the Year:  Middleton Primary (r/up  Central College)

Lifetime Achievement Awards:  Ann Kelly; Jackie Richards; Dave Hobson; Ann Brown

Sports Personality of the Year :  Freya Christie

Notts LTA Meritorious Service Award:  Rick Britton (this was a total surprise to Rick!)


Click here to see full details of the achievements of all these worthy winners and runners-up.


Following a Review of the Year video produced by Dave Everington, Christopher Walker, our newly appointed President of Notts LTA, gave his account of the tennis year in Notts – which can be read in full by clicking here


County Coach, Jamie Drummond, presented the 2016 AEGON Mini Tennis Team winners with medals (Red and Orange team to West Bridgford Tennis Club and Green to DL Aspley).


Jill Shelvey, newly appointed Chairman of Notts LTA , presented Senior County Colours to Pat Newman, Jamie Praditngam, Luke Smith, Pierre and Nina Luiggi and Junior County Colours to Taylor Hursthouse, Jessie Beiley, Evie Lopez and Jess Spencer.


The Summer League Trophies were presented by John Poxon, former Chairman of the League.  Wes Bridgford Ladies team were congratulated on winning the league for the 10th time in succession.  


Raffle prizes of Dunlop / Slazenger back packs were handed out; Mini Tennis Nets were won by Attenborough Tennis Club and a bottle of fizz was won by Barrie Thomas from Bingham Tennis Club.


For further details and photo please click here



Notts LTA
The County Ground
Tennis Drive, The Park
Nottingham NG7 1AE
0115 9473702