British No.2 Dan Evans set to play in Nottingham Aegon Trophy

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

British No.2 Dan Evans set to play in Nottingham Aegon Trophy

BRITISH No. 2 Dan Evans joins nine top 100 players to compete at the Aegon Trophy which starts on June 2, 2014, at the Nottingham Tennis Centre.

Former world No.31 Sergiy Stakhovsky, who last year beat seven-time and defending champion Roger Federer in the second round of Wimbledon is also among the initial 22 acceptances for the main draw.

Australian Matthew Ebden will return to Nottingham to defend his title against a strong field that includes last year's beaten finalist and former winner Benjamin Becker.

Aegon GB Davis Cup Team member Evans reached the quarter-finals of last year's Aegon Trophy and, after reaching a career high ranking of 123 in the world earlier this year, will be one to watch at this year's event.

World No.53 Igor Sijsling of the Netherlands is top seed for the event, which traditionally marks the beginning of the British grass court season.

Sijsling found his feet on the clay courts in stunning fashion earlier this month, knocking German veteran Tommy Haas out of the Madrid Open in the first round.

Last year's Aegon Nottingham Challenge winner Steve Johnson also returns to Nottingham where he clinched his first grass court title.

Claiming the second of the ATP Challenger events at the Nottingham Tennis Centre last year helped to earn the American a Wimbledon wildcard.

Paul Hutchins, Aegon Trophy Tournament Director said: "This year's entry list is strong with a number of players with title-winning track records in Nottingham returning in search of further glory.

"Nottingham offers players a very early chance to get used to the grass, so it's great for them to hone in on their grass court game ahead of Wimbledon.

"What's great about these Nottingham tournaments is they're completely free for spectators, so I'd urge all tennis fans in the Midlands to come down and support the British players as they begin their grass court campaigns."

The Aegon Trophy, commencing on Monday, June 3 (qualifying starting on May 31), is the first of back-to-back events making up the Nottingham Festival of Tennis, with the Aegon Challenge finishing on Sunday June 15.

Entry to both the Aegon Trophy and Aegon Challenge is free for all spectators.

For more information about the Nottingham Festival of Tennis, visit

Nottingham Trophy main draw entry list (world ranking in brackets): Igor Sijsling (53) Marinko Matosevic (65), Benjamin Becker (69), Matthew Ebden (70), Steve Johnson (72), Kenny De Schepper (75), Dudi Sela (84), Sergiy Stakhovsky (86), Lukas Lacko (89), Estrella Burgos (101), Adrian Mannarino (102), Tim Smyczek (108), Michael Berrer (113), Gilles Muller (114), Denis Kudla (118), Go Soeda (122), Aljaz Bedene (123), Tatsumo Ito (127), Ryan Harrison (129), Dan Evans (130), Alex Bogomolov Jr (136), Samuel Groth (143). 

Read more:




Notts LTA
The County Ground
Tennis Drive, The Park
Nottingham NG7 1AE
0115 9473702